Mission #1: Yong Green Food

A restaurant recommendation that has often come up during my vegetarian mission is Yong Green Food. I made a quick stop by the other day and thought it would be the perfect opportunity to test out my new Canon 600D camera.

IMG_0123

This is my first time using a DSLR. I’m not a great photographer in general, so I have a lot to learn. I love the quality of it but I’m still not familiar with its many features. I know I still have a lot of work to do (like not cut out the corners of objects like below) and to take my time – hard when you have a friends waiting eagerly to eat! I hope you look forward to seeing my improvements!

IMG_0121 copy

Yong Green Food made a good impression when we arrived there quite late in the afternoon. They informed us their kitchen was closing soon and that we had to order quickly, which was fine by us. I already knew what I wanted after seeing many Instagram pictures. We were lead through the first dining area into another spacious, narrow room which was a bit emptier, and where we were seated.

IMG_0124 copyThe service was extremely quick, but I’m not sure if that was because they were closing soon. Our drinks came out within a minute or two and were both very green. As a person who doesn’t drink a lot, I love creativity when it comes to mocktails, smoothies or juices and Yong Green Food ticked this box.

IMG_0128 copy

My friend ordered the Greenie smoothie with green leaves, banana, agave and almond milk (left, $8.50). I like that you had a choice of what kind of milk – other options were cashew milk, soy milk and coconut water. I had the lime crush with lime, mint and ice (right, $7.50) but it was a bit too strong for me, the lime especially. I chose it more for the minty flavour as I love a touch of mint in my drinks. Also, they should ditch the paper straws that get soggy in your drink!

IMG_0126 copy

For mains, I had the Tofu Katsu ($19), fried tofu patty battered with quinoa and served with biodynamic brown rice. I love katsu style food and I love tofu when done right, so it was a great combo along with the healthy coleslaw underneath to go with my crumbed goodness. My only complaint is that it’s a bit pricey along with a drink, and not that filling.

IMG_0129 copy

My friend had the Cold Soba Noodles ($16.50), buckwheat noodles mixed with creamy wasabi tofu sauce. He found the wasabi taste wasn’t overly strong – a good thing – and was balanced by the colder salad components.

IMG_0122 copy

Overall, a lovely experience with quality food and I would love to come back and try more…but I also know I won’t be satisfied after one meal!

Yong Green Food is located at 421-423 Brunswick St. They are closed Mondays and also Wednesday lunch. They are open 12-4pm for lunch Tues, Thurs-Sun; dinner 5-10pm Tues-Sat and 5-9pm on Sun. Check out their menu here.

Yong Green Food on Urbanspoon

REMINDER
This vegetarian mission was inspired by the film festival I work for, the Environmental Film Festival Melbourne. I’d especially recommend opening night on September 4th, which is selling fast! It includes drinks, canapes and a film from award-winning French director, Luc Jacquet (March of the Penguins). See the trailer below or click here for more information.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Mission 1: Fo Guang Yuan Art Gallery | Mon's Adventures

  2. Pingback: Mission #1: Final Report | Mon's Adventures

Leave a comment